College profile
Western Colorado University
Gunnison, CO · Public
www.western.edu/Explore the students, costs and outcomes behind this college, then browse its reported programs and fields of study.
41
Reported field + credential groups
Published cohort mapping: Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
420
Institution-wide
Published cohort mapping: Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
Undergraduate certificate/degree-seeking enrollment, not the institution’s total undergraduate-plus-graduate enrollment.
1,586
Degree / certificate seeking
Published cohort mapping: Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
Undergraduate Fall admissions: admitted undergraduates divided by undergraduate applicants; not a master’s-program acceptance rate.
100%
Undergraduate admissions
Published cohort mapping: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26
Institutional IPEDS cost context, generally undergraduate populations; inspect the exact label and cohort. Do not present this as a verified tuition quote or full price for a specific master’s degree.
$16,756
Undergraduate annual cost after aid
Published cohort mapping: Treasury AY2017-18, AY2018-19 pooled cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars
$50,666
4 years after completion
Explore every returned data element.
Choose a category or search field names, definitions and reported values. All returned fields remain available in the paginated explorer and complete downloads, including missing values. “Latest” can combine different reporting years. The retrieval date is not the cohort year.
58 matching data elements · Page 1 of 2.
| Data element | Reported value | Source field |
|---|---|---|
Institution nameDefinition and coverageInstitution name Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | Western Colorado University | school.name |
CityDefinition and coverageCity Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | Gunnison | school.city |
State postcodeDefinition and coverageState postcode Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | CO | school.state |
ZIP codeDefinition and coverageZIP code Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | 81231 | school.zip |
Accreditor for institutionDefinition and coverageAccreditor for institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: PEPS as of 08/27/2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | Higher Learning Commission | school.accreditor |
URL for institution's homepageDefinition and coverageURL for institution's homepage Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. The dictionary identifies a URL. Preserve it as source text; validate separately before rendering a link. | www.western.edu/ | school.school_url |
URL for institution's net price calculatorDefinition and coverageURL for institution's net price calculator Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. The dictionary identifies a URL. Preserve it as source text; validate separately before rendering a link. | https://western.edu/admissions/financial-services/tuition-and-costs/net-price-calculator/ | school.price_calculator_url |
Predominant degree awarded (recoded 0s and 4s)Definition and coveragePredominant degree awarded (recoded 0s and 4s) Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AY 2015-16. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. No dedicated unit column exists in the source dictionary and a reliable unit was not assigned from its wording. Preserve the raw value and full label; do not infer a unit from integer/float alone. | 3 | school.degrees_awarded.predominant_recoded |
Predominant undergraduate degree awardedDefinition and coveragePredominant undergraduate degree awarded 0 Not classified 1 Predominantly certificate-degree granting 2 Predominantly associate's-degree granting 3 Predominantly bachelor's-degree granting 4 Entirely graduate-degree granting Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AY2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 3 — Predominantly bachelor's-degree granting | school.degrees_awarded.predominant |
Highest degree awardedDefinition and coverageHighest degree awarded 0 Non-degree-granting 1 Certificate degree 2 Associate degree 3 Bachelor's degree 4 Graduate degree Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AY2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 4 — Graduate degree | school.degrees_awarded.highest |
Schools that are on Heightened Cash Monitoring 2 by the Department of EducationDefinition and coverageSchools that are on Heightened Cash Monitoring 2 by the Department of Education Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: FSA as of March 1, 2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. No dedicated unit column exists in the source dictionary and a reliable unit was not assigned from its wording. Preserve the raw value and full label; do not infer a unit from integer/float alone. | 0 | school.under_investigation |
Flag for main campusDefinition and coverageFlag for main campus Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 1 — Main campus | school.main_campus |
Number of branch campusesDefinition and coverageNumber of branch campuses Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Count or enrollment identified by the dictionary label; the label specifies students, borrowers, awards or institutions. | 1 | school.branches |
Control of institution (IPEDS)Definition and coverageControl of institution (IPEDS) Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 1 — Public | school.ownership |
FIPS code for stateDefinition and coverageFIPS code for state Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.state_fips |
Region (IPEDS)Definition and coverageRegion (IPEDS) Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 7 — Rocky Mountains (CO, ID, MT, UT, WY) | school.region_id |
Locale of institutionDefinition and coverageLocale of institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 33 — Town: Remote (in urban cluster more than 35 miles from an urbanized area) | school.locale |
Degree of urbanization of institutionDefinition and coverageDegree of urbanization of institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: NA. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.degree_urbanization |
Carnegie Classification -- basicDefinition and coverageCarnegie Classification -- basic Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2023-24. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 19 — Master's Colleges & Universities: Medium Programs | school.carnegie_basic |
Carnegie Classification -- undergraduate profileDefinition and coverageCarnegie Classification -- undergraduate profile Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2023-24. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 12 — Four-year, full-time, selective, lower transfer-in | school.carnegie_undergrad |
Carnegie Classification -- size and settingDefinition and coverageCarnegie Classification -- size and setting Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2023-24. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 11 — Four-year, small, highly residential | school.carnegie_size_setting |
Flag for Historically Black College and UniversityDefinition and coverageFlag for Historically Black College and University Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 0 — No | school.minority_serving.historically_black |
Flag for predominantly black institutionDefinition and coverageFlag for predominantly black institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: NA. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.minority_serving.predominantly_black |
Flag for Alaska Native Native Hawaiian serving institutionDefinition and coverageFlag for Alaska Native Native Hawaiian serving institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: NA. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.minority_serving.annh |
Flag for tribal college and universityDefinition and coverageFlag for tribal college and university Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: OPE FY2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 0 — No | school.minority_serving.tribal |
Flag for Asian American Native American Pacific Islander-serving institutionDefinition and coverageFlag for Asian American Native American Pacific Islander-serving institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: NA. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.minority_serving.aanipi |
Flag for Hispanic-serving institutionDefinition and coverageFlag for Hispanic-serving institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: NA. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.minority_serving.hispanic |
Flag for Native American non-tribal institutionDefinition and coverageFlag for Native American non-tribal institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: NA. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.minority_serving.nant |
Flag for men-only collegeDefinition and coverageFlag for men-only college Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: College Navigator CY2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 0 — No | school.men_only |
Flag for women-only collegeDefinition and coverageFlag for women-only college Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: College Navigator CY2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 0 — No | school.women_only |
Religous affiliation of the institutionDefinition and coverageReligous affiliation of the institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | Not reported (null) | school.religious_affiliation |
Flag for distance-education-only educationDefinition and coverageFlag for distance-education-only education Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 0 — Not distance-education only | school.online_only |
Flag for currently operating institution, 0=closed, 1=operatingDefinition and coverageFlag for currently operating institution, 0=closed, 1=operating Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: PEPS as of 08/27/2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 1 — Currently certified as operating | school.operating |
Net tuition revenue per full-time equivalent studentDefinition and coverageNet tuition revenue per full-time equivalent student Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: FY2024 (numerator) and AY2023-24 (denominator), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Monetary measure described in the official dictionary/technical documentation. Population, time window, debt basis and any inflation reference remain in the field definition/cohort note. | 11352 | school.tuition_revenue_per_fte |
Instructional expenditures per full-time equivalent studentDefinition and coverageInstructional expenditures per full-time equivalent student Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: FY2024 (numerator) and AY2023-24 (denominator), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. No dedicated unit column exists in the source dictionary and a reliable unit was not assigned from its wording. Preserve the raw value and full label; do not infer a unit from integer/float alone. | 14568 | school.instructional_expenditure_per_fte |
Average faculty salaryDefinition and coverageAverage faculty salary Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2024-25 salaries of Fall 2024 faculty, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. No dedicated unit column exists in the source dictionary and a reliable unit was not assigned from its wording. Preserve the raw value and full label; do not infer a unit from integer/float alone. | 7628 | school.faculty_salary |
Proportion of faculty that is full-timeDefinition and coverageProportion of faculty that is full-time Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary label identifies a share/rate. Numeric scale is not automatically converted to percent by this registry. | 0.6789 | school.ft_faculty_rate |
Institution name aliasesDefinition and coverageInstitution name aliases Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | Western | school.alias |
Level of institutionDefinition and coverageLevel of institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 1 — 4-year | school.institutional_characteristics.level |
Open admissions policy indicatorDefinition and coverageOpen admissions policy indicator Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 2 — No | school.open_admissions_policy |
Code corresponding to accreditor (as captured from PEPS)Definition and coverageCode corresponding to accreditor (as captured from PEPS) Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: PEPS as of 08/27/2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | NCACHE | school.accreditor_code |
Date that institution was first approved to participate in Title IV aid programsDefinition and coverageDate that institution was first approved to participate in Title IV aid programs Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: PEPS as of 08/27/2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | 1/1/1966 | school.title_iv.approval_date |
Title IV eligibility typeDefinition and coverageTitle IV eligibility type Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 1 — Participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs | school.title_iv.eligibility_type |
Control of institution, per PEPSDefinition and coverageControl of institution, per PEPS Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: PEPS as of 08/27/2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 1 — Public | school.ownership_peps |
Value of school's endowment at the beginning of the fiscal yearDefinition and coverageValue of school's endowment at the beginning of the fiscal year Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: FY2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. No dedicated unit column exists in the source dictionary and a reliable unit was not assigned from its wording. Preserve the raw value and full label; do not infer a unit from integer/float alone. | 8835417 | school.endowment.begin |
Value of school's endowment at the end of the fiscal yearDefinition and coverageValue of school's endowment at the end of the fiscal year Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: FY2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. No dedicated unit column exists in the source dictionary and a reliable unit was not assigned from its wording. Preserve the raw value and full label; do not infer a unit from integer/float alone. | 9479865 | school.endowment.end |
DOL approved training provider indicatorDefinition and coverageDOL approved training provider indicator Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: DOL as of May 24, 2021. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 0 — Not matched to the DOL list | school.dolflag |
Control of institution (PEPS)Definition and coverageControl of institution (PEPS) Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: PEPS as of 08/27/2026. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | Not reported (null) | school.peps_ownership |
Address of institutionDefinition and coverageAddress of institution Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AcadYr 2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Dictionary declares a string/autocomplete field; preserve leading zeroes and original text. | 1 Western Way | school.address |
Institutional sector derived from the ownership structure (CONTROL) and the predominant level of award conferred (PREDDEG)Definition and coverageInstitutional sector derived from the ownership structure (CONTROL) and the predominant level of award conferred (PREDDEG) Published dictionary most-recent cohort mapping: AY2024-25 and AcadYr2025-26, reported in IPEDS DCY2025-26. This mapping is not confirmation of the API’s update date. Explicit dictionary VALUE/LABEL code table; codes are not quantities. | 4 — 4-year Public institution | school.sector.scorecard |
Downloads include every data element returned for this institution and data selection, across all categories and credential levels. Explorer filters do not truncate the downloads. CSV text that could be interpreted as a spreadsheet formula is escaped; JSON preserves the original data values.
Official data dictionary · Institution methodology · Field-of-study methodology
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data selection: latest. Retrieved November 3, 2026 06:57 UTC.
Reporting periods and student populations vary by measure. Open an information icon for the definition and cohort. Missing or suppressed figures are shown explicitly. Institution statistics do not describe the price or outcome of a particular online master’s degree.
Official source and methodology ↗ · Federal institution ID 128391